Home   Event   Chamber Music | Trio Kobayashi

Chamber Music | Trio Kobayashi

October 17, 2012
12:30 PM

Hammer Museum
10899 Wilshire Blvd
Los Angeles, California 90024

Trio Kobayashi is a Los Angeles based ensemble originally formed to perform the music of Wolfgang von Schweinitz. While Kobayashi’s original formation was to perform just intonation music for brass instruments, the ensemble has gone on to perform a wide repertoire stretching from vocal music of the Renaissance to collaborations with living composers. This includes collaborations with Larry Polansky, Jürg Frey, Marc Sabat, Ulrich Krieger and Nicholas Deyoe. Trio Kobayashi has also been in residence at Ucsd, as well as performing at RedCat’s Beyond Grisey Festival, CEAIT Xenakis: Now and Tomorrow, Beyond Baroque and for the DogStar Orchestra.

Trio Kobayashi is Zara Teicher (french horn), Matt Barbier (trombone) and Luke Storm (tuba).

Trio Kobayashi is performing works by Iannis Xenakis and Jürg Frey. Iannis Xenakis’s Linaia-Agon is the last of his three game pieces. In this piece Xenakis uses musical motives to workout a mathematical realization of the legend of Apollo and Linos. This is done through a series of mathematical matrices with corresponding sections of music organized into specific combats in which the performers respond to their opponents choices. The god Apollo is portrayed by the french horn and tuba, who battle the mortal Linos (the trombone).


Linaia-Agon is paired with Jürg Frey’s Circular Music- a piece written expressly for Kobayashi. Circular Music is a series of short chorals which repeat in different ways in open ended lengths exploring the slow change of repeating processes.